Dialog Box


In 2016 the world theme is Know Your Subtypes.

  • We now know there are more than 60 subtypes of lymphomas, each one with different characteristics (once classified as only Hodgkin or non-Hodgkin lymphoma)
  • One in four patients were not aware of their lymphoma subtype at the time of their initial diagnosis
  • Nearly half didn’t understand the characteristics of their subtype
  • By knowing and understanding lymphoma subtypes, we continue to move closer to the possibility of having the right treatment for the right patient with the best outcomes


If you are diagnosed with Lymphoma, you need to know your subtype

Lymphoma is a blood cancer that originates in the lymphatic system. Currently, there are over 60 identified subtypes of lymphoma. However, lymphoma is still commonly categorized into just two types, Hodgkin and Non-Hodgkin lymphoma. In order for patients to get the best possible treatment and support for their specific subtype, the way we talk about lymphomas needs to change.

When first diagnosed, many patients are simply told they have Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma (NHL) or Hodgkin Lymphoma (HL)

But Lymphoma has more than 60 subtypes.

Why are subtypes important?

Each subtype requires different diagnostic evaluation and treatment approaches.

Yet patient organisations around the world report that many patients never clearly understand their subtype. Without this understanding, patients might not be aware of the appropriate treatment options for their specific subtype of lymphoma.

In addition to better communication between doctors and patients, Lymphoma Australia along with the Lymphoma Coalition believes that healthcare systems and government bodies around the world need more accurate subtype reporting and a systemic change for naming and listing lymphomas to ensure patient needs are being met.

Click here to learn more about the different subtypes