Dialog Box


Classifying Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma

Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma can be divided by the type of lymphocyte affected (either B- or T-cells) resulting in either B- or T-cell lymphomas. The World Health Organization’s classification of lymphomas is the most commonly used system for classifying the different types of NHL.

World Health Organization Classification of B-Cell and T-Cell Lymphomas'

 B-Cell & T-Cell Lymphomas

B-Cell Lymphomas T-Cell Lymphomas
Precursos B-Cell Lymphomas
  • Precursor B-Cell lymphoblastic leukaemia/lymphoma 
Precursor T-Cell Lymphomas
  • Precursor T-Cell lymphoblastic leukaemia/lumphoma 
Mature B-Cell Lymphomas
  •  Follicular lymphoma
  • Mantle cell lymphoma
  • Diffuse large B-Cell lymphoma
  • Burkitt's lymphoma
  • B-Cell chronic lymphocytic lymphoma
  • Marginal zone lymphomas
    • Extranodal marginal zone B-Cell lymphoma of mucosa-associated lymphoid tissue (MALT) type
    • Splenic marginal zone B-cell lymphoma
    • Nodal marginal zone lymphoma
  • Lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma (Waldenstrom's macroglobulinaemia) 
Mature T-Cell Lymphomas
  • Mature B-Cell lymphoma Adult T-Cell leukaemia/lymphoma
  • Anaplastic large cell lymphoma
  • Cutaneous T-Cell lymphoma (including mycosis fungoides and Sezary syndrome)
  • Peripheral T-Cell lymphomas:
    • Subcutaneous panniculitis-like T-Cell lymphoma
    • Hepatosplenic gamma-delta T-Cell lymphoma
    • Enteropathy-type intestinal T-Cell lymphoma
    • Extranodal T-Cell lymphoma, nasal type
    • Angioimmunoblastic T-Cell lymphoma
    • Peripheral T-Cell lymphoma, unspecified